The Montréal Process

The Montréal Process Working Group was formed in 1994 as a bold, intergovernmental response to the pressing need for sustainable forest management. One of its first tasks was to develop and implement internationally agreed-upon criteria and indicators for the conservation and sustainable management of temperate and boreal forests.

Christina Hendricks Promotes Sustainable Forestry and the Montreal Process. See the videos…

The Montréal Process countries are Argentina, Australia, Canada, Chile, China, Japan, Korea, Mexico, New Zealand, Russian Federation, United States of America, and Uruguay. The Montréal Process member countries countries account for:

  • 90% of the temperate and boreal forests,
  • 58% of planted forests,
  • 49% of the world’s forests,
  • 49% of the world’s roundwood production, and
  • 31% of the world’s population.

Through the Montréal Process, member countries continue to make a voluntary commitment to work alongside each other to further the sustainable management of their forests and to create a pathway for collaboration and capacity building.